Skip to content

What makes an April Fool?

April 10, 2013

10 days ago I noticed a sign outside my local Vision Express branch.  I wish I’d taken a photo – but imagine an A board promoting their tie up with Heston Blumenthal.

I looked at this.  I thought “that’s a bit weird” and then realised it was April Fools Day.  “They’ve got me” I thought, and walked on.

Why would a chef team up with an opticians (even if he is a chef who does wear glasses)?

 

1293824_Heston_Blumenthal_and_Vision_Express

(Photo from their press launch)

I walked past the same store on Saturday.  And the sign was still there.

Turns out the last laugh was on me.  Not only is it true, but Vision Express are heralding it as their most successful product launch ever.

However, it does beg the question – while a product launch at a bank holiday weekend does make sense, if your brand tie up is a little less obvious, or even a little less believable, does the bank holiday that includes April Fool’s Day make the best business sense?

No comments yet

Leave a comment