Skip to content

There’s a time and a place … and an appropriate message

January 19, 2012

I came home recently, and found two copies (his and hers?) of this on my doormat:

Now, not being in the market for a divorce myself, I’m not sure I’m exactly target audience… but I haven’t been able to stop thinking about this particular bit of leafleting.  It’s irritated me, and I think I’ve started to work out why.

Is price something that really springs to mind when you are considering divorce?

Surely it’s something that you either want (whatever the cost) or you don’t.  Is suddenly putting a “10% off” offer on the process going to close the deal?  And wouldn’t the financial implications of a divorce go way beyond the £600 cost for getting it done in the first place?

Now I know that this is just a local firm, and they are probably doing the best thing for them in terms of raising awareness of the services that they are offering.  In fact, I hope that this has worked for them.  And there’s always the fact that I’m not target market and therefore maybe completely and utterly wrong.

But it did strike me as a great object lesson in appropriateness.

Sometimes having a great price, a differentiating incentive, or talking about something that no-one else is, just isn’t the right thing to do.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 1:44 pm

    We got one too. A quick (free) check of the census would have revealed that no-one is my household is married…

    • January 19, 2012 1:55 pm

      Ditto. The wrongness is there on so many levels!

    • January 19, 2012 2:04 pm

      And also (continues to rant) I think the issue is that I can see how this would come out of a marketing meeting as well – “well, price is something that people view negatively when it comes to law firms, so maybe we should make it seem more, accessible, and demonstrate that we are value for money in these austere times….” Argh!!

Leave a Reply

