Skip to content

On online shopping upping its game

October 4, 2011

One of the perks of my job is the fact that I have to keep a close eye on how online fashion retailing is progressing (purely for work purposes you understand…)

So really fascinated/excited by the news today that Aurora Fashions (Coast, Warehouse, Oasis) are rolling out the 90 minute delivery option to other cities – including Leeds and Manchester.

Not that it would probably be the most common way of ordering, but can you imagine the ‘going out that night and nothing to wear’ problem solving potential? Or, on a more prosaic note, the ‘oh god I forget that important meeting was today and I’ve come in ripped jeans and a t-shirt’ sinking feeling at 9am.

I wonder how long it will take other retailers to follow suit – asos offers a similar service but only within the M25.

The other stat that I’ve been interested to see recently was a survey that GSI Commerce ran, which is described as demonstrating that online shopping is starting to set the parameters of how fashion consumers shop.

In particular, the number of people who look at the website before purchasing (you assume on the high street) is now 69%.   And it’s been increasing steadily every year.  Something that I’d noticed with H&M is that the catalogue and website often have a lot more stock than they do instore.

How long before shops are taking smaller spaces, and using in store screens to let customers access the full collection? Less space needed for browsing and merchandising, and more space to store goods until a customer wants to see and try them on?

Or will customers always like the physical browsing experience in itself?

(picture creds to: The Future of Shopping project

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 8:59 pm

    Very interesting – but I wonder how many women would be confident enough of getting the right size when they emergency ordered? Last time I hit the high street I had to try on 23 pairs of trousers and jeans (yes, I counted) to get two that fit. I’m not sure if I’d trust an online brand to emergency deliver something tricky like trousers that would fit, even if I ordered a couple of sizes.

    On the other hand, having experienced accidentally-meeting-the-client’s-global-CEO-in jeans years ago I’d probably be willing to at least give it a try…

  2. October 5, 2011 9:38 am

    I wonder if it would appeal in the going-for-a-date-in-the-evening-just-spilt-coffee-on-the-blouse type scenario. I would hazard this service is aimed at busy professional people and I can envisage that scenario working.

    I think your prediction is right on the money with the store experience becoming just that, an experience, rather than a transactional process. This is already happening – places like Abecrombie and Fitch have more in common with the Situationist idea of a spectacle than they do with parting money and wallet

Trackbacks

  1. An online/offline retail hybrid « desertlandscapes

Leave a Reply

