Skip to content

When brands make you feel let you down…

June 15, 2011

I love baking. Really, really love baking.

And I’m a bit picky when it comes to ingredients.

I have different butters (I kid you not) for cake making and icing.

I am completely brand loyal when it comes to vanilla extract (of all the things to be brand loyal to – Nielsen-Massey if you were interested, or needed a recommendation).

So I was excited when I saw this on shelf:

Until I got home and actually used it.

Every single square has Nestle printed across the middle.  This goes against the artisan / quality ingredient ethos that it feels they are trying to convey with the name and the packaging.

What’s more, this is completely hidden.  The only mention of the connection is if you read the small print and the address on the back.

If they’ve gone to so much trouble to hide the connection at point of purchase, why on earth haven’t they made sure their branding is cohesive at every touch-point?

Has anyone else come across branding double standards like this? Or was I just being naïve that it was going to be better quality? Ah well, back to waiting for Lindt to go on sale again…

Oh, and here’s what I used it in… Brooklyn Blackout Cake.

There are two morals to this story:

1)       Disconnects, especially ones you can only find out after purchase, will never ever make your customer warmer to your brand.

2)       Never give people post-it notes and cookery books and say ‘I’ll make whatever you want for your birthday”.  Murphy’s law says that they’ll automatically pick out the most complicated recipe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 6:06 pm

    I haven’t paid attention to branding double standards, but I will now. When I saw your cake I’m thinking I want a piece of that 🙂 You might have use anti-artisan ingredients, but that cake is a work of art. Salivating and going away now to get my chocolate fix …

  2. June 15, 2011 9:21 pm

    it worked! wow. well done.

    • June 16, 2011 8:05 am

      Yes! Although, making chocolate custard at 8 in the morning when you got in from the night before at 4 – not a good look :s

      thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

