Skip to content

The oddest shopping basket of them all…

March 15, 2011

Do you ever find yourself looking at what other people are buying when you are queueing at the supermarket?  Maybe I’m just really nosy….

Other people’s shopping baskets / habits have always fascinated me though – so I always get a little geeky and excited when the annual inflation basket is published.

I love looking at what gets swapped in and out.  Mostly because it paints a picture of how people’s behaviour is changing over time – which is fascinating in itself.

Smartphones and apps are now on the essential list.  No e-book readers yet though – although I’m glad to see hardback books have made it in.  Hurrah!  Technology may be changing everyone’s lives, but there’s still room for some old fashioned things.

And it’s really interesting that a whole new category has been added – the craft kit.  A reflection of a return to a DIY / make it yourself culture? Reinforced by the swapping out of rose-bushes – reflecting the fact that we’re growing more veg instead?

The thing that I find really fascinating is how they work out what needs to change in the makeup of the basket to make it more representative.

Does anyone know of a good visualisation? Or even a full list of all the items? This would be a brilliant topic for a good infographic!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 7:37 pm

    I stare too, haha, I spend most of my time looking at other people rather than minding my own shopping. Not in a creepy way though…just fascinated by what they pick and what they talk about when they’re with someone. Couples shopping are always fun…like Miller pointed out in his ‘A Theory of Shopping’

    I’m fascinated by the craft kit too, I’d say it’s not a come-back, if you look at statistics some 90% of people will say they’ve engaged in DIY in the ‘last 12 months’ and that’s been happening for years. You can’t not wonder what in the world are they doing? DIY is changing lightbulbs? Putting up a shed?

    I’d LOVE to see any visualisation of it too.

    (Hello back, I like your blog 🙂 )

    • March 25, 2011 8:57 am

      You see I’d agree with you on the non-creepy thing – but sometimes they catch me staring (never been very good at this subtle thing…) and then the edge away nervously…

      I’d be really interested to see a definition of craft /DIY too. I wondered whether it was something to do with customisation of clothing etc. – the resurgence in things like sewing and knitting that’s been going on for a few years now.

      Thank you for the comment (I like your blog too 🙂 trying to lurk less and interact more this year!!)

Leave a Reply

