Skip to content

Thinking about kindles, and the joy of owning ‘things’

January 27, 2011

I find Kindles fascinating.  I was reading this and it fed into something that I’ve been thinking about recently.

One the one hand, I love the idea of a Kindle.

I love that they’ve (for me, as an avid reader) focused on the one element of reading a book that really matters:

Amazon say “the most elegant feature of a physical book is that it disappears while you’re reading […] Our top design objective is to make Kindle disappear — just like a physical book — so you can get lost in your reading, not the technology.”

And the screen is amazing, I can see why people love it.

But I’m just not sure.

And this feeds into another thing that I’ve been thinking about; the joy of owning objects.  Something that appeals to the collector / hoarder in all of us.

There’s something about reading a book as the author organised it – down to the cover art and the font they’ve chosen.  And there’s something about browsing the shelf to pick what to read next.  Things you can’t get from a Kindle.

It’s a similar thought in this article – all about the new clubs that are sitting down and listening to full albums.  The idea that itunes is killing the full album as a work of art.

I wonder – are people like this rebelling against this portable data-driven culture, or are they just clinging onto outdated forms of media.

I’d like to hope that there will always be proper books. Amazing as the Kindle is, for me it will never be able to capture the full experience and joy I get from reading.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 1:29 pm

    via Russell Davies I found this great post http://berglondon.com/blog/2011/01/14/asleep-and-awake/ about how the Kindle is comfortable in the world (in contrast to the ipad which craves attention).

Trackbacks

  1. Can insight ever be a bad thing? « desertlandscapes

Leave a Reply

