Skip to content

New year, new start

January 5, 2011

Right. New Years Resolutions. This year, I am determined that I will stick to mine.

Following the advice of (almost) always thinking (she may not know she gave me this advice, as I have been blog-lurking for a while now) this year I will:

– Start a blog

– Post to it regularly

This has a purpose, beyond sharing random musings (probably on planning and cupcakes, in that order).

This will teach me how to be concise.

Someone much cleverer than me once gave me a piece of advice. He told me that it is the job of a planner to keep things simple.

So, in a roundabout way, this is my New Years resolution – a quest in search of simplicity.

Which links me niftily to the name – Desert Landscapes.

In 1988, Quine wrote an essay titled ‘On What There Is’. One quote from this is the only thing that stuck with me after three years of studying philosophy:

“[An] overpopulated universe is in many ways unlovely. It offends the aesthetic sense of us who have a taste for desert landscapes.”

This is my attempt to make the universe simpler.

Oh, and bring happiness through the medium of cake.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 5:19 pm

    welcome to the blogosphere 🙂

  2. January 7, 2011 4:37 pm

    Evening

Trackbacks

  1. A Day In The Life « desertlandscapes

Leave a Reply

